Maryland Young Republicans Elect New Leadership

The Maryland Young Republicans elected new leadership at their convention in Frederick today.

Maria Sofia of Montgomery County was elected the new Chairman. She was the previous Vice-Chairman. A staffer in the Maryland Department of Planning, Sofia was instrumental in organizing YR Deployments in key races, especially the election of State Senator Mary Beth Carozza.

Other new leaders include Vice-Chair Melissa Brown, National Committeewoman Bella Hambrick, and National Committeeman Evan Young.

Sofia takes over at an important time for the YR’s. The organization has been without serious leadership since 2015, when current chair Kory Boone took over. Boone’s leadership was controversial, unfocused, unprofessional, and spent more time on a divisive and drama-filled run for National Chairman focused on outside influences and hiding his Never Trump credentials than in Maryland. Several MDYRs have shared stories of Boone’s aloofness, and lack of interest in state elections. Boone was so checked out from his duties that he didn’t even show up on time for today’s convention.

Trending: Thank You

We wish Chairman Maria Sofia the best as she rebuilds the Maryland Young Republicans from the mess Kory Boone left her.

Send this to a friend