It’s Over…..for now

Well, the Anne Arundel County School Board Nominating Commission process is mercifully over for this year:

For the new District 32 seat, the commission chose candidates Teresa Milio Birge and Sam Georgiou. For the at-large seat, they chose Walter Chitwood, Kevin Jackson, Evelyn Gray-Mason and Tricia Johnson, the current board president who’s up for re-appointment.

Of course, nobody has actually convinced anybody that the new process is any better than the old process. Particularly when you have attempts at stunts like this:

Tim Mennuti, a commissioner who represents the local teachers’ union, asked for the vote to also happen behind closed doors, but not enough commissioners agreed.

Trending: Candidate Survey: Chris Chaffee for US Senate

That’s right. The teachers union wants to conduct business behind closed doors. Shameful.

Of course, not as shameful as this entire cockamamie process in general. Once again, the O’Malley/Leopold Commission structure still does not address basic questions, such as why voters should not get the final say as opposed to unelected special interests.

We’ll see how this all plays out with the Governor’s appointment, and the silly “vote” on the ballot in November. Because I have a funny feeling that we haven’t seen how this is going to play out in the end just quite yet…


Send this to a friend